Kansas, Missouri on different pages on farm bill

KYLE DYCKFor the first time, all of Kansas’ representatives in the U.S. House voted against a farm bill, according to a New York Times analysis of votes going back to the 1950s. And of the entire congressional delegation, only Sen. Jerry Moran, R-Kan., voted for the farm bill that President Obama signed Friday. “We were really disappointed that they didn’t vote with us,” said Steve Baccus, president of the Kansas Farm Bureau. A comparison of Kansas with neighboring Missouri is striking. Nine of Missouri’s 10 representatives and senators (including all seven Republicans) voted for the farm bill, and the 10th delegation member didn’t vote.