Delegation split on domestic-violence law

The Kansas delegation split evenly on the Violence Against Women Act, which was reauthorized in the House Thursday and sent to the president’s desk. Reps. Lynn Jenkins, R-Topeka, and Kevin Yoder, R-Overland Park, voted with 85 other Republicans to pass it in the House, while Reps. Mike Pompeo, R-Wichita, and Tim Huelskamp, R-Fowler, voted “no.” Sen. Jerry Moran, R-Kan., supported reauthorization last month in the Senate, while Sen. Pat Roberts, R-Kan., did not. Huelskamp has said the federal government “should not be in the business of handing out grants conditioned on how states do or do not prosecute criminals.”