Flood watch for areas east of Wichita

The National Weather Service has issued a flood watch for portions of the Wichita metropolitan area and southeast Kansas until 10 a.m. Thursday.

Butler and Cowley counties are included in the watch, but Sedgwick is not.

Allen, Chautauqua, Elk, Greenwood, Labette, Montgomery, Neosho, Wilson and Woodson counties are also in the watch area. Rounds of heavy rain are expected to bring 1 to 2 inches of rain to an area that received 1 to 3 inches on Tuesday night.

Low-land rural and street flooding is possible, and localized flash flooding can’t be ruled out.