Dense fog advisory for Wichita area

The National Weather Service has issued a dense fog advisory for 35 counties in central, southern and southeast Kansas through mid-morning Wednesday. The advisory includes the Wichita metropolitan area.

The advisory runs until 9 a.m. for 9 counties in central and southern Kansas: Ellis, Rush, Pawnee, Stafford, Edwards, Kiowa, Pratt, Comanche and Barber.

The advisory extends until 10 a.m. for these counties in southeast Kansas: Russell, Lincoln, Barton, Ellsworth, Saline, Rice, McPherson, Marion, Chase, Reno, Harvey, Butler, Greenwood, Woodson, Allen, Kingman, Sedgwick, Harper, Sumner, Cowley, Elk, Wilson, Neosho, Chautauqua, Montgomery, Labette.

Widespread visibilities of a quarter-mile or less can be expected, the weather service warns. Near-zero visibility is possible at times as well.