Severe thunderstorm watch for central Kansas – including Wichita

The National Weather Service has issued a severe thunderstorm watch for 28 counties in central Kansas until 11 p.m.

Wichita, Hutchinson, Pratt, Russell, Salina, Wellington, Dodge City, Great Bend and Newton are included in the watch area.

Counties in the watch Barber, Barton, Clark, Comanche, Edwards, Ellis, Ellsworth, Ford, Harper, Harvey, Hodgeman, Kingman, Kiowa, Lincoln, McPherson, Meade, Ness, Pawnee, Pratt, Reno, Rice, Rush, Russell, Saline, Sedgwick, Stafford, Sumner and Trego.