Blizzard warning in effect for Wichita and south-central Kansas

Blizzard warnings are now in effect for 22 Kansas counties, including the Wichita metropolitan area.

The warnings extend until midnight for 14 counties in southwest Kansas – Hodgeman, Pawnee, Stafford, Haskell, Gray, Ford, Edwards, Kiowa, Pratt, Seward, Meade, Clark, Comanche and Barber.

The blizzard warning expires at 6 a.m. Tuesday for Kingman, Reno and Harper counties, and until noon Tuesday for Sedgwick, Butler, Harvey, Sumner and Cowley counties. Strong north winds of 30 to 40 miles an hour – with higher gusts – will create blizzard conditions and make travel extremely difficult.

Here are a series of maps showing snowfall forecasts from various agencies and media outlets. The differences are due to uncertainty about how far south the center of the storm will track, and how soon rain will change to snow.

The first map shows the National Weather Service forecast.

The next map comes from KWCH, which is predicting less snow for Wichita than the weather service.

The third map is from KAKE. You’ll see the notable variances in the forecasts.