Snow band prompts significant weather advisory for Wichita area

A narrow band of light to moderate snow has prompted the National Weather Service to issue a significant weather advisory for eight counties in and east of the Wichita metropolitan area.

The advisory includes Sedgwick, Butler, Chautauqua, Cowley, Elk, Montgomery, Sumner and Wilson counties.

At 12:40 p.m. Thursday, light to moderate snow extended along a line from Derby to Atlanta to Howard to Sedan, the weather service reported. The band was drifting southeast and may cause limited visibilities at times. Numerous accidents were reported in west Wichita over the noon hour.

The snow isn’t expected to amount to more than a dusting, weather officials said, but that will still be enough to make elevated roadways slick.

For more information on current weather conditions, go to our weather page.