Dense fog advisory until 10 a.m. for Wichita area

The National Weather Service has issued a dense fog advisory until 10 a.m. for 14 counties in southern and southeast Kansas, including the Wichita metropolitan area.

Visibilities could drop to a quarter-mile or less. “Drivers should use extreme caution,” the agency warns in a statement.

The fog is gradually moving north, meaning south Wichita will see thick fog before the north side of the city does.

The counties included in the advisory are Reno, Harvey, Butler, Kingman, Sedgwick, Harper, Sumner, Cowley, Elk, Wilson, Neosho, Chautauqua, Montgomery and Labette.