President declares disaster area for 34 Kansas counties

President Obama today declared a major disaster exists in the state of Kansas and ordered federal aid to supplement state and local recovery efforts in a 34-county area struck by severe storms, flooding, and tornadoes during the period between June 7 and July 21.

The counties included in the declaration are Atchison, Brown, Butler, Chase, Clay, Cloud, Comanche, Doniphan, Ellis, Franklin, Greenwood, Harvey, Jewell, Kiowa, Lyon, Marion, Marshall, Miami, Mitchell, Morris, Norton, Osage, Osborne, Pawnee, Phillips, Pottawatomie, Republic, Riley, Rooks, Rush, Smith, Wabaunsee, Washington, and Woodson.

Federal funding is now available to state and eligible local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations on a cost-sharing basis for emergency work and the repair or replacement of facilities damaged by the severe storms, flooding, and tornadoes.

Federal funding is also available on a cost-sharing basis for hazard mitigation measures statewide.