Author Archives: Tony Adame

Before they were Shockers II

Last year at the Final Four, I put together a blog post that gave us a glimpse into the careers of Wichita State players, pre-WSU: Before they were Shockers.

And like anything even sort-of popular, it deserves a sequel.

So here’s one from St. Louis – Before they were Shockers II: Electric Bugaloo

Read More »

Under the Dome, The Eagle’s special section, Twitter follows for today’s game

The Georgia Dome is hosting the Final Four for the third time, and almost certainly for the last time.

That’s not to say college basketball’s signature event won’t ever come back to Atlanta. Not by a longshot.

Here’s my story about what’s going on with the home of the Atlanta Falcons — mainly that they’re about to drop $1 Billion on new digs. Think something along the lines of what Cowboys Stadium is, a place that can host Super Bowls, Final Fours and BCS championship games.

We’re about four hours from tipoff of Wichita State-Louisville here and Shocker fans are filling up Room C3 of the Georgia World Congress Center, which is right outside of the media room. Outside, there’s not a cloud in the sky and the vibe is electric – was like this last night, too. If you’re a sports fan the Final Four is like if Christmas and Fourth of July had a baby. It’s wonderful.

Here’s the link to Kansas.com, where you can find all the content from our 56-page special section that ran in today’s Eagle. If you’re in Wichita hopefully you’ve been able to get your hands on one. And if  they run out, I’m sure we’ll make more.

Here’s the Twitter follows from the Eagle for today’s game:

Paul Suellentrop (@paulsuellentrop)

Bob Lutz (@boblutz)

Rick Plumlee (@rickplumlee)

Denise Neil (@deniseneil)

Tony Adame (@t_adame)

Jeff Lutz (@JLutzICTEagle)

Travis Heying (@travisheying)

Jaime Green (@green_jaime)

I’ll be back in a couple of hours to check back in on the blog.

TA

Video of WSU players from Friday

I shot some video today from the breakout sessions for Wichita State’s players at the Georgia Convention Center, which is attached to the Georgia Dome. What they do is take the team’s star players and set them up in their own conference rooms for mini press conferences. Thanks to Eagle photog Travis Heying for getting them up online.

Carl Hall talks about the “Play Angry” mantra

Ron Baker talks about Final Four practices

 Malcolm Armstead talks about team’s unity

Here’s a video I shot from Wichita State’s open practice at the Georgia Dome today.

And here’s a bonus – great video from Eagle photog Jaime Green on Shockers’ run to the Final Four. 

Headed back to the hotel and will be back it tomorrow morning. WSU fans are filling up Atlanta – kind of a crazy scene right now.

TA

Before they were Shockers

RON BAKER CIRCA 2011

We’re working on our second day in Atlanta – my third in Georgia – and the hype around Wichita State’s first appearance in the Final Four is everything you thought it would be here at ground zero.

So with all the frenzy around what’s going on right now, I thought a trip back in time might be in order. Let’s take a look at some of the Shockers, before they were Shockers.  Here’s my story on WSU forward Carl Hall that ran in today’s special section.

Let’s hop in the Delorean for a trip down memory lane:

Read More »