Corey Adams does it again

For the second straight year, Corey Adams won Special Teams MVP honors at Kansas State’s postseason awards ceremony.

The senior long snapper, who was successful on all of his field goal/PAT and punt snaps this season, takes a streak of 475 quality snaps into the Pinstripe Bowl. Those accomplishments were deemed impressive enough by Wildcats coach Bill Snyder that he awarded Adams the program’s top special teams award alongside explosive kick returner William Powell.

Not quite as impressive as 2009, when he beat out speedster Brandon Banks to claim the honor all by himself. But still pretty remarkable.

Some will say Banks and Powell contributed more to K-State with their exciting returns and touchdowns, and I tend to agree. Long snapping is an important, unsung skill, that Snyder cherishes. But returning kicks is an equally important, celebrated skill that everyone appreciates.

In the future, maybe K-State can honor both talents separately by handing out an Unsung Player Award. Just an idea.

In the meantime, K-State’s other big winners were Daniel Thomas (Offensive MVP) and David Garrett and Ty Zimmerman (Defensive MVPs). Below is a complete list of winners.

2010 K-State Football Team Awards

Overachiever Award (top freshman in strength and conditioning) – Tre Walker (LB)

Red Raider Award (top contribution on scout squad) – B.J. Finney (OL)

Scholar-Athlete Award – Alex Hrebec (LB)

Purple Pride Award (walk-on displaying quality play, leadership and work ethic) – Brian Hertzog (LB)

Ken Ochs Courage Award – Kevin Rohleder (LB)

Kevin Saunders (Never Give Up) Award – Clyde Aufner and Trevor Viers (OL)

Nancy Bennett Memorial Award (representing fight, spirit and positive nature) – Josh Berard (DE)

Anthony A. Bates Memorial Award (promoting team unity and unselfishness) – Carson Coffman (QB)

Joan Friederich Award (representing team concept through unselfishness and commitment) – Wade Weibert (OL)

Jim “Shorty” Kleinau Award (representing loyalty, hard work and commitment) – Aubrey Quarles (WR)

Coaches Appreciation Award – Ernie Barrett and Sean Snyder

Most Improved Defense Player – Terrance Sweeney (DB)

Most Improved Offensive Player – Collin Klein (QB)

Outstanding Offensive Lineman – Zach Kendall and Kenny Mayfield

Defensive Front Seven Defensive Player of the Year – Ray Kibble (DT)

Special Teams Player of the Year – William Powell (KR) and Corey Adams (LS)

Most Valuable Player-Defense – David Garrett and Ty Zimmerman (DB)

Most Valuable Player-Offense – Daniel Thomas (RB)