Spring football begins

By Rustin Dodd

LAWRENCE — The Kansas football program began spring practice on Tuesday. The Jayhawks will practice 14 times over the next month before finishing the spring schedule with the program’s spring game at 1 p.m. on Saturday, April 13. Fresh off a 1-11 season in his first season at Kansas, second-year coach Charlie Weis released the initial spring depth chart on Monday.

It features a few mild surprises. But here’s one that isn’t: Junior quarterback Jake Heaps, who sat out last season after transferring from BYU, is listed as the starter at quarterback. Weis, who is very high on Heaps’ ability, said Heaps and sophomore Michael Cummings would be the only quarterbacks to get reps this spring.

Weis listed junior running back Tony Pierson at a new hybrid “F” position that figures to be used in the rushing and passing games. Finally, there are eight players listed as offensive and defensive starters that haven’t played a down for Kansas.

That list, which includes Heaps, also features juco offensive linemen Ngalu Fusimalohi and Mike Smithburg; juco defensive linemen Ty McKinney and Chris Martin; redshirt linebacker Courtney Arnick; redshirt safety Tevin Shaw and junior college safety Cassius Sendish.

Here’s the rest of the depth chart:


QB: Jake Heaps, Jr. // Michael Cummings, So.

RB: James Sims, Sr. // Taylor Cox, Sr. OR Brandon Bourbon, Jr.

RB/WR: Tony Pierson, Jr. // Colin Spencer, Fr.

LT: Pat Lewandowski, Jr. // Riley Spencer, Sr.

LG: Ngalu Fusimalohi, Jr. // Damon Martin, So.

C: Dylan Admire, So. // Gavin Howard, Sr.

RG: Mike Smithburg, Jr. // Randall Dent, Sr.

RT: Aslam Sterling, Sr. // Brian Beckmann, Fr.

WR (X): Andrew Turzilli, Jr. // Justin McCay, Jr.

WR (Z): Tre Parmalee, So. // Christian Matthews, Sr.

TE: Jimmay Mundine, Jr. // Charles Brooks, Sr.


LE/T: Jordan Tavai, Sr. // Tedarian Johnson, Jr.

N: Ty McKinney, Jr. // Tyler Holmes, Fr.

RE/T: Keon Stowers, Jr. OR Keba Agostinho, Sr. // Kevin Young

LB (Buck): Chris Martin, Jr. // Ben Goodman, So.

SLB: Courtney Arnick, Fr. // Brian Maura, Jr.

MLB: Ben Heeney, Jr. // Darius Willis, Sr. (Schyler Miles, INJURED)

WLB: Jake Love, So. // Victor Simmons, Jr. (Prinz Kande, INJURED)

CB: Dexter McDonald, Jr. // JaCorey Shepherd, Jr.

SS: Tevin Shaw, Fr. // Ray Mitchell, Jr.

WS: Dexter Linton, Sr. // Greg Allen, Fr.

CB: Cassius Sendish, Jr. // Tyree Williams, So. OR Nasir Moore, Jr.


K: Trevor Pardula, Jr. // Eric Kahn, So. OR Ron Doherty, Sr.

P: Trevor Pardula, Jr. // Ron Doherty, Sr.

LS: Zackary Young, Sr. // Reilly Jeffers, So.

Hold: Blake Jablonski, Jr. // Tre Parmalee, So.

KR: Tony Pierson, Jr. // Brandon Bourbon, Jr.

PR: Tre Parmalee, So. // Nasir Moore, Jr.