Kansas Chamber endorses legislative candidates

TOPEKA – The Kansas Chamber Political Action Committee released its endorsements for the 2010 Legislative races.

All of the endorsed candidates are Republicans. Below is the chamber’s statement and candidate list.

“We are proud to endorse a group of candidates who demonstrate a pro-jobs approach to stimulating the Kansas economy and the personal leadership to form strong public policy,” said Kansas Chamber Interim President and CEO Kent Beisner. “These individuals are committed to reducing government spending and growing jobs in Kansas.”

The Chamber PAC endorses exceptional lawmakers and candidates who support the tenets of free enterprise. The selection process focuses solely on the core business issues that impact the state’s economy.

“Instead of cutting spending during these tough times, the legislature chose to grow the state budget by more than $200 million during the 2010 legislative session,” continued Beisner. “Kansans expect legislators to spend their money in a responsible manner, just like Kansas families and businesses must do.”

“Kansas needs decision-makers in Topeka who understand that the government is funded by businesses and their employees,” concluded Beisner.

The Kansas Chamber’s legislative agenda includes initiatives aimed at creating a more jobs-friendly tax climate, containing healthcare costs, improving the legal climate, improving the workers compensation system and unemployment compensation system, and promoting a fair regulatory climate.

Kansas Senate

David Harvey, 7- Mission Hills

Kansas House of Representatives

Aaron Jack, 99- Andover Amanda Grosserode, 16- Lenexa Anthony R. Brown, 38- Eudora Arlen H. Siegfreid, 15- Olathe Becky Nioce, 56- Topeka Benny L. Boman, 95- Wichita Bill Wolf, 112- Great Bend Brenda Landwehr, 91- Wichita Brett Hildabrand, 23- Merriam Bruce G Williamson, 55- Topeka Calvin Seadeek Jr., 68- Council Grove Carl Holmes, 125- Liberal Caryn Tyson, 4- Parker Cheryl Green, 70- Rosalia Clark Shultz, 73- Lindsborg Clay Aurand, 109- Courtland Connie O’Brien, 42- Tonganoxie Dan L. Collins, 110- Plainville Dan Widder, 124- Ulysses Daniel Buller, 60- Emporia Daniel J. Kerschen, 93- Garden Plain Don Schroeder, 74- Hesston Earl Freeman, 36- Kansas City Elaine S. Bowers, 107- Concordia Ellen Janoski, 80- Peck Forrest Knox, 13- Altoona Gary Hayzlett, 122- Lakin Gene Suellentrop, 105- Wichita Greg A. Smith, 22- Overland Park J. David Crum, 77- Augusta James Clendenin, 98- Wichita Jana Taylor Goodman, 41- Leavenworth Jeff King, 12- Independence Jeff Locke, 2- Arma Jene Vickrey, 6- Louisburg Jim Denning, 19- Overland Park Jim Howell, 82- Derby Jim Morrison, 121- Colby Joe McLeland, 94- Wichita Joe Patton, 54- Topeka Joe Seiwert, 101- Pretty Prairie John C. Grange, 75- El Dorado John M. Faber, 120- Brewster John Rubin, 18- Shawnee John Stevens, 86- Wichita Joseph Scapa, 87- Wichita Kasha Kelley, 79- Arkansas City Kelly Meigs, 17- Lenexa Kyle Amos, 83- Wichita Kyle D. Hoffman, 116- Coldwater L.W. Abney, 53- Topeka Lana Gordon, 52- Topeka Lance Kinzer, 14- Olathe Larry R Powell, 117- Garden City Lee Modesitt, 66- Manhattan Lee Tafanelli, 47- Ozawkie Leslie Osterman, 97- Wichita Marc Rhoades, 72- Newton Mario Goico, 100- Wichita Marvin Kleeb, 48- Overland Park Melvin J. Neufeld, 115- Ingalls Michael Foltz, 24- Roeland Park Michael Houser, 1- Columbus Michael Musselman, 64- Clifton Mike O’Neal, 104- Hutchinson Mike Burgess, 51- Topeka Mitch Holmes, 114- Saint John Owen Donohoe, 39- Shawnee Peggy Mast, 76- Emporia Pete DeGraaf, 81- Mulvane Phil Hermanson, 96- Wichita Ray Merrick, 27- Stilwell Bud Sifers, 9- Iola Reynaldo R. Mesa, 123- Garden City Richard Carlson, 61- St. Marys Richard Downing, 29- Overland Park Rob Bruchman, 20- Overland Park Rob Olson, 26- Olathe Rocky Fund, 50- Hoyt Ronald Young, 71- Salina Mike Kiegerl, 43- Olathe Sandra Bohne, 40- Leavenworth Scott Schwab, 49- Olathe Sharon Schwartz, 106- Washington Steve Huebert, 90- Valley Center Steven Brunk, 85- Bel Aire Steven C. Johnson, 108- Assaria Susan Mosier, 67- Manhattan Terri Lois Gregory, 10- Baldwin City Terry Calloway, 3- Pittsburg Tom Arpke, 69- Salina Virgil Peck, 11- Tyro William R. Prescott, 59- Osage City Zachary D. Goodman, 62- Sabetha